PS 5-17-16 *Work, *Music

*First a comment:

*WORK
(I forgot to mention this yesterday…)

Yesterday, after Sylvia and I agreed to go to work “6” days a week, instead of our usual “4”, I was reminded of a song by the 70s band “Grand Funk Railroad”. The song is called: “The Railroad”.

It’s a good song but those times when it creeps into my mind, are when I feel “Society” tightening its grip around me. I just want to break those chains. These are times when I really feel that “Thursday” has followed “Wednesday”, which came after “Tuesday” and so on… when I really feel the “cycle” of things. In my world, well for the past 266-WEEKS of my world, I’ve had no break, no vacation, no more than 1-day off before being lowered back into the Salt Mines, etc.

These are the words from that song, which flood my mind during those times and most of the time, they hit me right when we wake-up in the morning:

  • “Up each morning at five o’clock,”
  • “Seem like the noon-day sun ain’t never gonna’ stop.”
  • “The work is hard in a railroad yard,”
  • “Hey, hey, gotta’ make it today to punch a time card.”

Today, while still at work, Sylvia and I continued talking about whether we were making the right decision of working 6-days a week now. As sometimes happens with “insights” / “words of wisdom”, I received the answer from another employee. This employee is a sharp-thinker and has been with the company for a while now. When I mentioned that we were asked to work 2 extra days each week, her response was:

  • “You know. Nothing lasts forever. You might want to take the extra hours while you can still get them.”

I mention this to show that the “Signs” can sometimes be all around us but if we don’t “have eyes to see them” or “ears to hear them, we may be struggling to find a “Sign” that doesn’t exist… a “Sign” that “we” want to be the “Sign”. We must remain open-minded and flexible.

  • In other words… Let’s say you can’t decided whether to buy the “Toaster-Coffee Maker” or the “Soup-Ice Maker”. Your now in the Department Store, deep in thought on which purchase to make. Right at that point, someone asks if you know where the Hair Dryers are kept. As you look to see who’s talking, you notice a flower in her hair. You say: “Nice flower”. She says: “A friend gave it to me today. I don’t normally wear flowers in my hair.” Then you notice the flower is a “rose”. Your mind starts racing: “Rose. Roses are “red”. That’s the item I should buy… the red Toaster-Coffee Maker and not the green Soup-Ice Maker.”

Here’s a link to the song:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=25owBMZZML8

Here’s a link to the lyrics:
http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/grandfunkrailroad/therailroad.html

*MUSIC
Sylvia and I continue to work on our latest song, code name: “Lighthouse”, each day. As with all of the songs on this album, Sylvia has created some wonderful pieces of music. With some of the songs, but especially with “Lighthouse”, once I’ve “Streamed-in” their pieces, they seem like basic, “so-so” songs. However, after assembling each of them, with Sylvia’s help of course, I then hear the full power and character of each song.

Today, I recorded a VERY rough Vocal Track, with “me” doing the singing. Listening to it being played-back was still nothing special. However, after I put all of our music things away and switched gears into our nightly research, that song’s character and melodic “hooks” kept calling me. Fragments of that song just kept playing in my head.

  • “That song is so basic… acoustic guitar and singing. How can it have such memorable sounds?”

A few days ago, I played the “Vocal melody” and “chords” into GarageBand from our Korg Krome (keyboard). I did this “live” and also recorded the melody’s “MIDI” (digital music information) at the same Time. This is allowed me to assign a “Piano” to that MIDI Track, so I can have a type of “Audio Cheat Sheet”. I can now listen to those notes in my Headphones, which gives me the exact Pitch that I need to hit when singing the lyrics.

I may have discovered a problem with all this, however. I had previously set all of our musical instruments with a Global Tuning of “A=432Hz”, instead of the standard Cabal tuning of “A=440Hz”.

When I played-back a couple of the Tracks, I thought I was hearing a disagreement in Pitches between the Krome’s guitar chords and GarageBand’s piano sounds. (As far as I can tell, GarageBand won’t allow you to change its Tuning away from “A=440”.

=====

(Although I did my usual amount of research tonight, there just wasn’t anything for “me” to include.)

Published by

Paul & Sylvia

Since Sylvia "crossed-over" on 4/9/11", we have been working "through the Veil". In 2016, we finished an album together. Sylvia wrote it "over there" and sent the songs to me as "images", "feelings", etc. The various Rhythms, Melodies, Harmonies, Song Styles, etc. came to me as pieces, which I assembled into Songs. You can listen to this entire album for free from this page: https://infinity4.bandcamp.com/releases (Be sure to scroll down, in order to read the Background information.)

Leave a Reply

